Avon Waters, “River Morning Lights”

Pastel Viewpoints

Northern Indiana Pastel Society Members’ Exhibit

Colfax Cultural Center | 914 Lincolnway West, South Bend, Ind.
Sept. 9 – Oct. 21, 2022
Gallery Hours: 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. Monday-Thursday. Friday by appointment.
Closed Saturday-Sunday.

Twenty-four works by NIPS members on exhibit.
Reception and awards the first Friday of October: 6-8 p.m. Oct. 7, 2022

Awards will be given to Sue Coultas and Shandelle Henson of Niles, Mich., Avon Waters of Converse, Ind., and Elizabeth Kuntz of South Bend. The judge was Justin Barfield, Colfax Cultural Center gallery curator. 

Art will be released back to artists 3–5 p.m. Oct. 21, 2022





Northern Indiana Pastel Society Members’ Show
March 14–May 14, 2022
Salvation Army Kroc Center, 900 W. Western Ave., South Bend IN 46601

Awards were selected by Barbara Miller of Penn High School, the Art Teacher of the Year in Indiana. Congratulations to these award winners:

Mary Meehan Firtl, “Pond at St Pat’s Park”
Barbara Gentner Stephenson, “Burgers in the Sky”
Peg Luecke, “Cuyahoga Path”
Bridget Marcus, “Crowned Crane from Flight Patterns Series”
Robert R. Williams, “Leyla in Green Head Scarf”

Click here for the juror’s statement.




Some of the paintings on display:





Autumn Brilliance
Fernwood Botanical Garden
13988 Range Line Road, Niles, MI
Sept. 3 – Oct. 31, 2021
The pastel show featured 35 works by 20 artists. Landscapes, portraits, florals, still life paintings and abstracts were on view. The autumn theme represents the time of year the exhibit takes place in Fernwood’s colorful environment as well as the autumn views depicted in some of the artwork. Reception with awards took place on October 31, 2021. 

Juror Amanda Ward announced the following prize winners:
Avon Waters – “Morning Haze”
Kendra Nafziger – “Into the Light”
Shandelle Henson – “River Birches on Juday Creek
Karen Jacob – “Cloud Nine”
Bridget D. Marcus – “European Bee-Eater”
Click here to read the juror’s statement.
Here are some of the works that were on exhibit: